What Is the IAS Exam?


The IAS or Indian Administrative Service Examination is in all likelihood the most challenging tests to crack inside of India. The fact is as per one research concerning the Civil Services Exam, the IAS is actually the next most difficult examination, just after the French Civil Services Test, to cope with. However it is undoubtedly manageable. Passing the IAS Exam is your only way to become a member of the esteemed Indian Civil Services, out of which the IAS is the exceedingly vaunted service. The other services you could get on getting through the IAS Test include the Indian Police Service (IPS), IRS, IRTS, IRPS, and a lot more.

Who Holds the IAS Exam?

The Indian Administrative Service Exam is carried out by the Union Public Service Commission, a Constitutional organisation created within Article 315 of the Indian Constitution. The Union Public Service Commission, headquartered at Shahjahan Road in New Delhi releases the notice for the Civil Service Test typically in December each year.

Exactly How Many Stages are there within Indian Administrative Service Exam?

The Civil Service Exam includes 3 levels, which is the reason it’s a really difficult and at the same time essentially the most preferred examination within the entire country. The earliest step is the Preliminary stage, generally referred to as Prelims or even CSAT. The IAS CSAT is carried out in May each year. Following the latest modifications to the Preliminary Syllabus the non-compulsory papers for the CSAT are now eliminated and therefore the Preliminary now consists of a couple of mandatory subjects of two hundred marks each common to all the applicants.

The second phase is the Mains examination. You have to get past the Preliminary step to be able to appear for the Civil Service Mains examination. However, the Preliminary is just qualifying anyways and scores obtained in the Preliminary level will not be counted in the Mains or for purpose of the final standing.

The Mains Indian Administrative Service Examination is carried out by the UPSC around the last week of October every year and it usually runs for 20-25 days. Various mandatory papers like General Studies (GS), Essay, English, Indian Language are common to all contenders appearing in the Mains. In addition to these subjects you need to to select two optional subjects from more than 26 papers. Overall, the Mains exam is of 2000 marks. The English and also Indian Language subject happen to be of passing character only. The marks obtained are neither disclosed and neither taken into consideration for ultimate rank and also for preparing the ranking list. However, you will need to clear the compulsory papers nevertheless.

The next and final stage of the Civil Service Examination is your Interview stage. The Indian Administrative Service examination personal interview is held by the Union Public Service Commission in it’s head office located at Shahjahan Road, New Delhi after announcement of the Mains results around the second week of March. The job interview process usually starts close to final week of March and goes on till the first week of May. The results are then declared 2-3 days prior to the Preliminary.

The IAS Examination IAS interview involves 300 marks and there is no minimum qualifying score. And so the maximum score in the Indian Administrative Service test is 2300 (2000 marks Mains + 300 marks Personal interview). If you would like to become a Civil Servant you need to acquire at least 1260 marks in the IAS exam as the contest in this exam is extremely tough and it’s not uncommon to find three people with the same score.

Usually, the final student cracking the IAS test gets around 1100-1150 score and there are usually anywhere between 400-1000 openings every year. Thus the variance in marks among very first ranker and 200th spot is not really more than one hundred marks. Such is the level of competition in the Indian Administrative Service exam.

What is the Minimum Eligibility for the Indian Administrative Service Exam?

Only a Graduate certificate from your college or university recognized under the UGC Act and the minimum age of twenty one years together with thirty years as the higher age limit. You are able to attempt for the IAS exam a maximum of four times till the age of thirty. Different relaxations in the age limit and number of tries are available for applicants from weaker segments. There isn’t any maximum academic certification needed for the Civil Service examination and simple graduates as well as PhD’s all are competing on the very same stage.

Resources necessary for the Civil Service Examination

As with several tests, the IAS Exam also has its own tools, courses, techniques, hints, and strategies to prepare within the least amount of time to ensure optimal results. You will need the following resources to begin preparing for your Civil Services Test:

Books for Indian Administrative Service

Knowledge on IAS coaching

Civil Service examination planning technique

Papers as well as catalogs for Civil Service preparation

Tips from skilled Indian Administrative Service candidates who’ve possibly got past the Indian Administrative Service test or at best showed up for the Civil Service interview


Source by Ramesh Mehra